HYPERGRAPHIC

Skull of a Skeleton with Burning Cigarette

Posted in Books by NAN on 2009/12/21

Either because I got it free from lil bro or because I actually have grown to love David Sedaris, maybe both, I liked this one a lot, and it just put him in my Imma-read-all-your-books list this year. Shame on me for thinking his Naked is Chic Lit for non-chicks; I blame National Bookstore for displaying it with the bestselling titles I chronically ignore. Like the blurb says, he may be in his midlife, but his spring of tragicomic combo ain’t showing signs of running out. I just love this early van Gogh cover,  also by a favorite (Chip Kidd!). It echoes throughout the collection–his partner’s skeletal fascination, his attempt to finally quit smoking, all those due deaths saying “You are going to die,” or “You are going to be dead…someday.” Something like that.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. smokeyhighland said, on 2010/01/10 at 11:04 PM

    Check out Augusten Burroughs……………………..

    • nan said, on 2010/01/12 at 7:01 AM

      Just finished his Running with Scissors! 😛


Leave a Reply

