HYPERGRAPHIC

The Promise of Happiness

Posted in Movies by NAN on 2009/10/12

I’m a little scared of loving this British docu The Perfect Home, based on Alain de Botton‘s The Architecture of Happiness, which made a cameo in 500 Days of Summer coz instead of just describing diverse possibilities, it prescribes what the 21st century house should be–modern, open-plan, boxy, lots of glass, just like Corbusier’s Villa Savoye above. Just like I fear people with agenda, it’s hard to accept a singular answer to the way people might want to live. True, many have been complacent about getting the house they want simply because they’re not offered by real estate builders. But I’m not so sure about the modern house as the best space for myself. I cannot stand light all the time, for example. from my window which only fills just about half of my current condo wall. I think modern spaces can be stimulating workplaces, but I’m not sure if they have the same warmth and memory many people choose to harbor in spaces they usually inherit.

Leave a Reply

