HYPERGRAPHIC

Sheep with a Star on Its Back

Posted in Photos by NAN on 2009/03/07

This is a secret. I just finished Murakami’s A Wild Sheep Chase last Thursday night while waiting for a music festival to begin outside a bar in Katipunan. Jap kids arrived in a pack when I was pacing through the last pages, and I was secretly looking at their ears. Do you get anything while she’s wiping hers?

Sometimes, I wonder what it would be like if I knew more languages and I’m a translator instead, or what if I’m in advertising. I love looking at ads, but I’m afraid of the marks  I could be making. What if I’m asked to find a sheep with a star on its back? I’m not sure I dig that.

It’s strange how there’s no time in mountains, no? No distance too. You say after dinner or when the fog settles or past the sheep pasture. Even watches are useless. You just have to do what you can.

There’s this one sad thing I’ve been thinking about: what if you find what you want too early; how do you spend the rest of your life? Somewhere, there’s this place called the Dolphin Hotel where an old sheep professor locks himself in. He found what he was looking for, but it left.

Sometimes, it is too late when we find it. And we realize, somehow, there was a guide. Only we were not ready to understand. Once, there was a Rat and a sheep with a star on its back who lived far out in the mountains where there is no time.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sanyata said, on 2009/03/08 at 12:28 AM

    “There’s this one sad thing I’ve been thinking about: what if you find what you want too early; how do you spend the rest of your life?”

    >>>Parang ang tragic. Yet we 20-somethings are rushing to find what to do with our lives.

    Ang cute nung plaid na sheep.

    • nan said, on 2009/03/08 at 4:51 AM

      Some say you just can’t get enough, but I don’t know if that’s true.

      There’s this thing about spiritual union with sheep in the novel, you’ll see. 🙂

  2. Czek said, on 2009/03/09 at 11:07 AM

    I say it’s the journey that matters.
    And maybe there isn’t just one purpose for one person in life.
    Maybe there shouldn’t be just one.

    • nan said, on 2009/03/09 at 2:38 PM

      I’m not sure about the purpose part, but yeah I myself want too many things. It’s hard to think of just one big thing. True, maybe it’s usually many things.

  3. paoruiz said, on 2009/03/16 at 5:16 PM

    I love this book. =)

    • nan said, on 2009/03/16 at 9:30 PM

      Really? Glad to meet another Murakamian. 🙂


Leave a Reply

