HYPERGRAPHIC

Trip into the Sixties

Posted in Books, Photos by NAN on 2009/03/02

Drop City

I finally finished this thing recently, still part of my Read Your Own Books project, and right after I did, I wondered why I didn’t just finish it all the way through right away. It was a regular Wednesday morning. I was sitting on a sidewalk ledge before a yellow wall painted with red flowers, occasionally taking a sip of my favorite hot Kopi which I grabbed to go, and I was grazing through the last parts: the hippies are trapped in a deadly Alaskan winter while the sun glowed higher over the fence behind me. T. C. Boyle himself is a description master, but I found this series of photographs by Don Snyder, the guy who took the novel’s cover shot, equally enchanting. These are from his book called Aquarian Odyssey: A Photographic Trip into the Sixties.

[Except the first one and Janis Joplin, photos courtesy of Dylan Reece’s Journal de l’Internet. Aquarian Odyssey Part 1 and Part 2.]

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elyoo said, on 2009/03/06 at 2:29 PM

    Oooh! I have this book!!! Will read it next!

    • nan said, on 2009/03/06 at 11:48 PM

      Really? Go read it. Fits your “Flower Child” post. 😛

  2. peachy said, on 2009/03/11 at 4:03 AM

    I always felt that I was supposed to be born during that period or the 70s (but I guess I was born too late). Anyway. 🙂

    • nan said, on 2009/03/11 at 6:29 AM

      In a way, they’re lucky to easily recognise what to struggle against.

  3. Poyt said, on 2009/03/17 at 1:41 PM

    This is like a huge inspiration wall post! I love it! How I wish I lived in the 70’s.

    • nan said, on 2009/03/17 at 1:58 PM

      Isn’t Don Snyder great? It’s difficult too, you know, to actually be there. This is 60’s by the way, but I bet the 70’s would’ve been a great time too.

  4. […] and Hotdog-flavoured Water, but I was interested in the album jacket. When you’re that age, topless and bearded hippies are interesting. It’s only later that I would understand better what they’re about–peace, free […]

  5. Efrain John Gonzalez said, on 2009/10/28 at 1:42 AM

    Whatever happened to Don Snyder. I used to see him around 23rd street. but he vanished??


Leave a Reply

